Remembering and the Museum of Tolerance

Hope lives when people remember. Simon Wiesenthal

I love history – well, maybe not so much in high school, but since growing up, it enthralls me. English history, Russian history, American history……learning from the past and reaching to the future. So, on the way to the Museum of Tolerance yesterday, I didn’t expect to be surprised by any of the facts about WWII and specifically the Holocaust. I expected to be moved, to be challenged……but not to really learn something more than I have already learned by searching out history.

Of course, you can probably tell that I was wrong! SEEING real people, their real stories, made it much more REAL to me…..not some historical occurrence that seems to have a clinical aspect to it. But these were people – it could have been ME!

I had the privilege of sitting for almost two hours listening to Mary Natan (formerly Maniusia Rybowski), a woman that, at the age of 10, was forced into a Jewish Ghetto in Poland with her family. I heard harrowing stories of how that was, her need to smuggle food back into the ghetto so her family would not starve, the horrible – and kind – treatment of Nazi soldiers, her time in the death camps…..and so much more. Part of me began to see this was not “just history”, but reality…..and not that long ago! And part of me was so amazed by this woman…….partly because I knew survivors of the Holocaust are getting pretty old (she is 80) and this opportunity would someday end. And partly because, although I heard horrible aspects of her life, she seriously was not bitter. In my own life – with trials that pale in comparison to Mary’s – I have strong areas of bitterness. Yet Mary did not. I look forward to learning more about this……

The museum also moved me…….it took this information and made in PERSONAL. I was sitting there, hearing real stories, being amazing that – yes – how could so many “ordinary people” like you and me see this persecution and not do anything? How could so many countries not want to help the Jewish People who were trying to flee from the persecution? I began to feel the helplessness that existed – something that was just a theory prior to this.

And then it got more emotion – walking into the model of Auschwitz…….a sign saying “millions walked through this gate to their death”. Standing, looking at the model with synthetic ashes to represent the bodies that had been burned, the museum volunteer explained the two ways to enter the camp – those that were able bodied and those that were not. Children, women with children, those 40 and older – they were not able bodies and would be most likely be killed immediately. I stood there, feeling a shadow of the terror that they must have felt, realizing I would be killed and the children with me would be, too. For no other reason than a decision by someone who hated me. I could not stop the tears, which got more prevalent as I viewed the whips used on the people (some still stained by blood), the braids of children who had them cut off before having their heads shaved prior to entering the gas chamber. The reality of this horror became a fixture in my heart immediately and I could not stop feeling the pain of the millions who actually lived this.

I could go on and on…….and I might write more later. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this museum! It is not just sadness, but encourages you that so many survived the hatred that was intent on ending those that did not meet “the standards”.

Yes I will write more. But for now I must go…..

Holy Crap! The Countdown Begins!

Should I say “excuse my French”?

Today marks one month before my BABY GIRL turns 18!  Hoooooly, freaking CRAP!  LOL.  At least I know I was very young when she was born (ahem, 22.75) but still…..to have an adult for a child is a bit chilling!

These pics were taken yesterday as Kirstie, Kenny, and I went to sushi for lunch!

The almost adult…..

I have NO idea where he gets his silliness from!

My Joshter

My Aunt Kay mentioned a while ago that she like the boys having longer hair now.  Me too!  It is a little messy right now (have to get it cleaned up soon), but I like the longer look.  Kenny used to have HUGELY curly hair when he was little – that hasn’t shown up yet.  Josh is showing more curls and he had less when he was little!  LOL

Kirstie?  Well, she colors her hair and it is much darker than her natural color.  She had blonde hair when she was little and then it slowly turned to light brown.  Yesterday, her Dad said, “you should lighten your hair……like your Mom’s.”  She said, “I would look ridiculous!”  I guess the look on my face was like, “What?!!?!” because everyone laughed and then she had to clarify that it looked good on ME, but she didn’t think it would work for her!  LOL……..Reminds me of a comment Rona made before going to the eye doctor.  I will keep THAT one to myself!  Ha.

Okay, I am going to wrestle with Josh now, at least pretend to as I am not wanting to aggravate my shoulder more!

The Good, the Bad, the Ugly…..and the Amazing!

Okay, I had an interesting day.  Let’s get it in words……

The Good – Gracie is an amazing dog.  She is truly this woman’s best friend!  She follows me everywhere – when at my desk, she sits under my chair (even when there are a gajillion more comfortable places to sit), when I eat, she sits under my chair there too.  When I go upstairs, she follows.  When I go to bed, she cuddles.  She is amazing.

The Bad – well, I have been recording lately, creating somewhat fun music that will never get me famous or pay my bills.  When finishing, I rolled up my mic and instrument cables and laid them on the floor next to my guitar, saying “I will put these away later”.  About 30 minutes later, I went back to take care of them……..THERE WERE PIECES EVERYWHERE!  YES, PIECES of cable!  Since Gracie follows me everywhere, she saw my reaction and looked VERY guilty!  Yep, my dear dog tore my cables up!

The Ugly – today Kenny and I had a date and had agreed to go to K1 Speed indoor kart racing.  You may remember, this is intense, and very fast.  We are both very competitive.  Yes, we really take this to a new level.  And it was great fun, except remember I hurt my shoulder surfing?  I did okay on the first race, but the second car I had was much more difficult to steer.  And further, the brakes were not as responsive and when Kenny spun out a bit, I was not able to stop quickly enough and BASHED into him!  His poor head swung forward and snapped back, and my shoulder SCREAMED in pain!  Yeah, we didn’t make it to our third and “free” race after that.  Kenny’s neck is better now, but boy my shoulder is ticked off at me!

The Amazing – as I mentioned before, I have been composing and recording music lately.  It has been very therapeutic for me.  Today Josh heard some of these songs for the first time and was VERY excited and thought I was cool.  What more can a mom ask for?  But then it planted a seed for him and he, too, wanted to write a song.  We got home late, around 8 or so, and sat down to start the process.  He wanted to record the singing right away, but I explained that we didn’t even have a melody or words yet!  So we sat there and he came up with a melody like THAT (picture me snapping)!  I found the right key for his voice and then we started on the lyrics.  He came up with the majority of them with me helping to fine tune them a bit.  I explained how verses, choruses, and bridges work in songs, and he very easily incorporated them into his!  I quickly recorded the drums and guitars and then he recorded the singing!  I know I am biased, but I think he did a great job in the time involved, for a first song, for being almost 8-years-old, and having never done anything like this before!  To listen to the song, click here.  I think it’s quite amazing really!

So, there you have it!  I am really jazzed right now, despite my shoulder!

Gina OUT!

Pastor protests in China…..um…..yeah……

Okay, I received an email from a friend telling me their former pastor (as in, they no longer go to his church) was protesting in China, during the Olympics, in favor of religious freedom. When I first heard, I was like, “wow, that’s pretty brave – China is a scary place regarding religious freedom!” Then, since my curiosity was peeked, I did a google search.

The following are excerpts from the CBS Denver affiliated site, as written by the Associated Press, and can be found here.

An American pastor checked into upscale hotels in the Olympics host city this week, filmed himself painting two of his rooms with slogans like “Beijing 2008 Our world Our nightmare” and then disappeared. Without paying. Eddie Romero’s unusual protest, now making the rounds on YouTube, shows foreigners can still sneak through the tight security measures China imposed to keep potential troublemakers away from the games. Romero’s friends said the preacher was in hiding, but planned to surrender to Chinese authorities as soon as the Olympics end Aug. 24. They said he began thinking about his elaborate, one-man protest of China’s human-rights abuses when Beijing was selected as the host for the 2008 Olympics seven years ago.

On Tuesday, in a sometimes unsteady hand — he had to teach himself how to paint — the California-based pastor splashed the walls of his two hotel rooms with demands for the release of five Chinese activists. He slashed pillows and staged mock killings with stuffed people propped on the bed, red paint spattered like blood on the headboard.
Romero, who appears to be alone, tells the camera he doesn’t want to disrupt the games. He talks about religious freedom for groups that remain highly sensitive with the Chinese government — Tibetan Buddhists, Uighur Muslims, the Falun Gong spiritual movement. The protest is heartfelt, said Bob Fu, leader of the Texas-based China Aid Association who is among a group of Romero supporters monitoring the protest from California. “This is not like middle-age crisis, craziness,” Fu said. “He’s very genuine, a caring, loving pastor. And very creative.” Another friend, British-based pastor Tony Thomas, said Romero had no special connection to China, but he had a vision for the project in 2001 after watching Beijing win the right to host the games. Thomas said Romero hatched the protest plan — which he eventually named “The Gadfly Project” — after consulting with a few close friends at his Hacienda Christian Fellowship church and talking with American activists who campaign for Chinese rights.

Okay, I am ALL FOR freedom of speech, human rights, freedom of religion, and would be the first to admit China has some things they could learn. I am not alone. And I praise the strength and bravery for people who stand in the face of oppression such as those that exist in China – and other countries – today. I applaud them. Protests have their place, can be affective……..

But VANDALISM? Destruction of hotel rooms, without paying? Getting the message on YouTube, where I imagine the majority of those in China would not even SEE it, let alone be able to do something about it? And, as a Christian Pastor, who admittedly does not appear to be trying to spread his faith, I think it further damages international views of Americans AND Christians! I think protests should be brave and RESPECTFUL – think of that student that stood in front of the tank……..his message still pops up today! But DISRESPECTING things……hmmmmm, not so sure…..

Am I off here? I would love to hear your opinions because, admittedly, I am reacting here……

Gina OUT

Gina the Sap

Okay, I started out the morning innocently enough – got my coffee, chatted with my friend online (shout out to Teddi!) and signed onto MySpace. I noticed that my sister posted a YouTube video about Christian the Lion, and I was intrigued. So I decided to check it out……

Well, this is an old story – having taken place in 1969 and 70 – and you may have already heard about it. I mean, over 2.4 million people had seen the YouTube clip in question! However, I had not. So I started watching it, and before you know it, was sobbing like a baby! A happy, sappy, sentimental cry! I don’t want to say more so as not to ruin it for you, but check it out! And yes, I cry every freaking time I watch it!

Click here to see the video!

Surfing on Tuesday…..

Yes, so Kenny and I went to Seal Beach early Tuesday morning!  I had decided to rent a board and wet suit and try it out myself.  I learned rather quickly some things about surfing:

  • Getting my body into a wet suit is a job in itself!
  • Surfing is harder physically than boot camp!
  • Getting on your knees is tough, let along on your feet!

I had to take a few breaks – here is me on one of them:

I WAS getting frustrated about the not standing part……it was tough!  At one point Kenny gave me some hints and suddenly I was up on ONE foot!  Woohoo!  That made me even more determined, despite the beating my body was taking.  And suddenly……I WAS STANDING!  For a WHOLE TWO SECONDS I felt the wind in my face, the ocean crashing around me, the board beneath my feet……AMAZING!  And then, suddenly, I was crashing down at angels I have never felt before – my board went flying, I went catapulting….not sure what exactly happened, but at the time my neck was in excruciating pain.  I tugged my board in, got to the chair, and sat back…..honestly, rejoicing that I freaking stood up!  Yet the pain soon radiated more directly over my left shoulder, where it remains today.  It hurts so bad that I went to the doctor – he said I might have just pulled muscles or may have damaged myself more badly.  I have a sling for now, am taking meds, icing it, and seeing how I feel in a week or so……

But more importantly, Kenny is getting quite good!  Here are some pics of the action:

Here is Ken with his board

Here he is going out

And here he is waiting for waves with the other surfers

And here he is surfing

So, it was a good day overall!  He is going back today with Edgar, so I look forward to hearing how he did.  As for me, it’s time to get the Organic Raspberries out of the freezer for my shoulder!  🙂

Gina OUT

Deep Thoughts from a Nerd

Okay, so maybe I didn’t get enough sleep last night…..it was hot, I tossed and turned…..and the alarm went off WAY too early this morning! But Ken and I will be leaving shortly for some fun surfing so things will be okay (and least, after I sip the coffee I just brought to the table!)

There has been an “issue” that has been bothering as of late. Well, probably for months, but it’s been gnawing at me more readily lately. Not sure why, but it has. Sometimes the thing called “religion” sucks! I mean, don’t get me wrong…..I have an intimate and real relationship with Jesus – without him I do not think I would have survived the crap that has been the last several months of my life. I am NOT talking about faith, God, or those sorts of things. I am talking about the dogma, the organized structures that are used to condemn, persecute, destroy…..and the worst part for me, in the name of my Lord.

I believe we need parameters to live by, standards to measure against, and the intelligence to know that we will surely miss the mark over and over again but are saved by Grace. Yet, I have witnessed a personal exodus from my life that is directly tied to RELIGION. Some have not been malicious, and perhaps just tied to the fact that the people involved don’t see me everyday like they used to. But harder for me to move past is the way that my employer used RELIGION to treat me like a second class citizen, outright harassing me, putting me through a five hour interrogation without lunch breaks or food, being treated “guilty until I (emphasis on me) prove my innocence”, and such. Why am I bringing this up now? Hmmmm. I see the pattern that my past employer implemented against me all over most organized religions – at that makes me very sad. But worse than that, I see the righteous justification to treating brothers or sisters in Christ like – excuse my French – holy crap. Often times, or at least in my case, after the same persecutors had treated me like a “rising star”. However, it seems that this treatment is not isolated, and that perhaps is why the wounds I feel haven’t had much time to heal.

I don’t know how to resolve this really. I guess I am hoping that, by writing out the words, this angst deep within me will be exorcised. Or the feeling of unfairness will diminish from my soul. Or, most likely, I just feel like a pity party today……..

On this note, here is an excerpt from John Shore’s blog (see link to the right) – it was a comment he received from a woman who struggled win unloving parents.  However, she moved into the treatment she received from Christians……tough words, however I believe many deal with this sort of thing often:

“I must say I do not like my parents. I am trying to return to God but I really need some Christians to show me that unconditional LOVE does exist. That it’s possible for someone not to judge you because you are different, unsocial or had a rotten life, and for them not to fear who I am might “rub off on them.”  I can’t say I have met many Christians of this kind. Mostly I hear from them how everyone outside of their little sect is going to Hell and wrong. In the four years I have been living in our town I have had ONE Christian person reach out to me unconditionally and lovingly. I was like a starving skeleton eating food for the first time in thirty years. I didn’t think Christians wanted anyone new around them or anyone so hurt they cannot seem to understand how deep it goes. I wonder if there really are Christian who care anymore. Not in my town I guess. Only one person at all, I guess.

I guess Christians have become too frightened to reach out to others in need. Somehow a sick wounded bleeding person is supposed to crawl to a church and beg for a little help. I wonder if Jesus would have slunk back and kept his mouth shut because others might punish him for sharing the gospel. I guess not because he died for us. I am trying to relate that to me.”

I will probably analyze this more later, but for now I must get ready to surf, dude! I will bring my camera today!

Gina OUT!

Surfs UP!

Today I took Kenny and his friend Ashley to the beach for an impromptu surf day. Keep in mind, Ken and I are STILL going first thing tomorrow morning! They were so excited to go and Ashley needed to go to her mom’s tonight, so I said why not?

Here I am hanging out at the beach

Kenny did ever better today – was popping up quickly on his board and making even better turns. Ashley learned quickly under Kenny’s tutelage and was standing up in no time! I look forward to seeing how he does tomorrow……

Here is Kenny in his wet suit, heading out to surf:

Okay, I best get my bootie to bed so that I can wake up tomorrow for the surf-fest!

Gina OUT!

Body Blasts, Surfboards, and Dogs

My Thursday started out waking up at 4:45 am. Right, I thought the same thing! WHAT THE HECK?  But Sonya and I are back into the working out routine.  She has a membership at a women’s gym and graciously got me a free week to try it out.  We met there this morning at 5:30 for a Body Blast class……yep, you guessed it, every muscles was worked!  It was a great workout, but dang, MY BODY HAS BEEN BLASTED!  I came home and seriously sat for about an hour, too sore to even go take a shower!  But I have had more energy since then, thank God!

So, Kenny hasn’t been able to use his new surfboard, which arrived on Monday.  So we headed out later in the morning for his first run!  He was a little wobbly at first – this board is shorter than the one he took lessons on – but by the end of the day he was doing a GREAT job, turning, etc.  We had such a good time, bonding on the drive, sharing the moments on the beach even when he was far out (thumbs up and waving galore), and just sharing this new adventure together.  I adored the time together!  Sorry, no pics this time as bonehead Gina forgot her camera!

Well, we stayed at the beach a bit longer than I anticipated, so on the way home I was concerned about Gracie.  She is a WONDERFUL dog, but she has one small problem – when she is left alone, she gets destructive.  The first thing she broke was the flap to the doggie door.  Then, she ripped up the sliding glass screen.  Then, I locked her in her crate and she somehow got the hall rug and tore that up.  So I am very cautious when I leave her and put her in her crate AWAY from EVERYTHING.  But, at the same time, I don’t like to put her in the crate for more than an hour or two.  Today, that turned into about four hours and I felt horrible.  So I told Kenny, “As soon as we get home, please run upstairs and let Gracie out asap!”  He complied (he is good about that!) and rushed to the door leading into the house.  As he opened the door, there was Gracie!  WHAT?!?!!?  We checked the house out – no damage.  I called Rona, who had her cell phone off (RONA – WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH THAT!  LEAVE YOUR PHONE ON FOR PETE SAKE!), and so I left a message.  She called back later to inform me that she had NOT let Gracie out!  So that little stinker now knows how to open the freaking crate door!  Dun dun dun.  At least she was happy as a clam and didn’t cost her mommy more money to fix things!

Okay – Rona, Stephanie and I are leaving for Sacramento tomorrow to visit Sandy and Aaron!  We are SO excited!  Woohoo!  I hope to update you all on our exciting trip once I return as I don’t believe I will have access to the internet while there.

Have a great weekend!

A Lot about Nothing

Hello!  Um, I am up early today (7:30) as I have another interview this morning.  I have no idea if this one will work out.  I was offered a job yesterday that, long term, has potential.  However, it is 100% commission, I need to go to Calabasas EVERYDAY, and has no benefits.  So I need to pray about that one…….

ANYWAY, Edgar took the boys to a surfing contest this weekend and Kenny sent me the following pics that he took:

Yesterday, the foam surfboard I got Kenny arrived!  So today, since I have the interview, Edgar is taking him surfing.  I am so excited for him!  I will probably take him tomorrow.  I might even try it out!  Now THAT should be interesting!

Okay, I gotta run, need to get ready and all.  I am not used to getting dressed in “grown up clothes” anymore, so it takes some time!

Ciao.